27
Jun
08

Thanks, Alan and Ben

I have been looking forward to my photo workshop in Venice, Italy for some time now. The trip is all-inclusive and was paid for several months ago (or so I thought) so all I had to do was not go crazy waiting until October. Then I get this email from the organizer of the trip (chart not included):

I have booked all that is necessary for each of us and …. a few little surprises to ensure an even greater time together in Bella Venezia!!!

I have one little bad news…. the USD$$$   has plummeted by 14.3% against the EURO since lat year !!   We ADVERTISED  hotel rates in USD $ , but will be paying the hotel in EURO.

The deficit is quite significant when booking 20 or so rooms per week, so I am afraid we need to charge you an extra USD$300 for the WEEK for the accommodation component of the costs.

Sweet. The trip isn’t for another few months so I wonder how many more emails like this I’ll get before I actually take off?  The $300 kinda makes me mad but it got me thinking about how aware everyone else in the world is of our monetary policy and how numb Americans are toward anything but reality teevee shows. The Euro is inflating like crazy (in terms of gold) but Da Fed is making Brussels look like a bunch of monks.

2 Responses to “Thanks, Alan and Ben”


  1. June 27, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    That’s really poor of them to do that to you. I find it hard to believe they would offer you a refund if exchange rates had gone the other way, but maybe I’m just being overly skeptical.

    A well run travel outfit would have locked in exchange rates with forward contracts a long time ago.

    Anyway, I hope your trip is enjoyable all the same and have safe travels.

  2. June 29, 2008 at 9:45 am

    The trip is being run by the photographer giving the workshop and his wife. Although they have experience planning such things, they are not professional planners or travel agents. Much of the expense was committed to a year in advance. Also, they are eating a fair amount of other cost increases themselves out of their generosity. Thanks for good vibes, though!


Leave a Reply

